South Central Kansas Map & Data

South Central Kansas Map & Data

The Greater Wichita Partnership, South Central Kansas region, is made up of 10 counties: Butler, Cowley, Harper, Harvey, Kingman, Marion, McPherson, Reno, Sedgwick and Sumner. Throughout the region, site selectors will find an abundance of all things necessary for choosing the perfect business location. As you scroll over each county, learn more about the communities, click on each county to learn more about the specific region.

Regional Data
Land Area (square miles) 2010: 10,037
Total Population (2015): 786,424
Median Age: 40.5
Educational Attainment (Population Age 25+):
High School Graduate or Higher: 89.6%
Some College – No Degree: 27.5%
Associate Degree: 8.3%
Bachelor Degree or Higher: 22.8%
Average 1-Way Commute to Work (minutes): 18.9
Civilian Labor Force: 386,819
Unemployed: 17,677
Unemployment Rate: 4.2%
Business Establishments (2015): 19,616
Employees: 353,226
Average Annual Pay: $36,257
Median Household Income: $48,725

Source: Land Area — 2010 Census; Population Density — Based on 2010 Land Area and 2011-2015 American Community Survey 5-Year Estimates; Median Age, Educational Attainment, Average Commute Time and Median Household Income — 2011-2015 American Community Survey 5-Year Estimates; Business Establishments, Employees, Average Annual Pay — Bureau of Labor Statistics, Quarterly Census of Employment and Wages; Labor Force Data — Kansas Dept of Labor.

Contact Information

Harvey County EDC
500 N. Main, St. 109
Newton, KS 67114
(800) 648-7759
(316) 283-6033
(316) 283-8732